Our History

The county-wide umbrella organization made up of civic organizations representing their communities and civic minded individuals in Prince George’s County, Maryland.


The Prince George’s County Civic Federation, Inc. traces its roots back to the evening of May 9, 1928, when a small group of citizens gathered at a location near Bladensburg Road.  Area homeowners were concerned about the increase in growth in the Washington suburbs.  They felt that through a strong alliance they could present a stronger voice in protecting their County from a type and rate of growth that might not be beneficial. Since then, the Federation expanded into a county-wide umbrella organization made up of Civic organizations representing their communities and civic minded individuals.  Though land use and the environment continue to be significant, our issues have broadened to include education, public ethics, transportation and taxation.  Among our major accomplishments were: creation of the County Hospital and County Service building, a long battle for a Home Rule Charter, the right to vote on bonds and the ethics bill.  We assisted the referendum for election of Council members by districts and for term limits.


Similar Federations formed in other metropolitan counties.  The former Evening Star Newspaper sponsored an annual award to a citizen or group selected by each federation for outstanding civic service to their community.  When the Evening Star closed, The Prince George’s Journal sponsored our trophy.  In recent years, the Federation discontinued outside sponsorship.  The Trophy is a silver cup on a base.  The awardee’s name is added to a plaque attached to the base and they retain possession for a year.  The actual Cup is then exchanged for a permanent commemorative bowl and the Trophy moves to the next recipient.  Because there are so many citizens worthy of recognition, a second discretionary “President’s Award” was created in the early 1980’s.

In 2007, a special Lifetime Achievement Award was also given to Carmen Anderson. See testimonials and photos.

Some past Trophy recipients were:

2011 Phill Woodruff for his work for the Rosaryville community (video)

2009 Barry Schlossberg for his work with the Brookwood-Hollaway Civic Association and extended community (photos & video)

2008 Carolyn Lowe for her work with the District V Coffee House and extended community

2007 Tanya Hill for her work with the Villages of Camp Springs Civic Association (photos)

2006 Teena Green of Villages of Camp Springs for her work in starting the Camp Springs Business Round Table and other efforts to control development in a rapidly changing area.

2005 Dawn Davit for her tireless and valiant efforts to preserve the historically significant property on the Potomac River known as “Tent Landing.”

2004  Aurelio “Jay” Nepa for his long time civic activism & efforts to require the County and Developers to use current Capital Improvement Planning numbers when considering new development in the County.  (photos)

2003 Donna Hathaway-Beck, Linda Owens for creating & advocating for a referendum against a law that allowed development in over-crowded areas & was not successful in getting developers to pay a fee that would result in construction of new schools.

2001  Virginia Stallings, Betty Garner, Greater Baden Aquasco Citizens Assoc for their fight to stop a rubblefill

1998  Melanie Wooten for exposing mismanagement of the budget within the school system

1996  Teresa Dudley, Abraham Lincoln & the Central Coalition for leading the fight to stop the stadium

1995  Eunice Coxon for years of dedicated service on multiple governmental/civic issues

1994 Mary Forsht-Tucker

1993 Robert Callahan

1992  Judy Robinson for Term Limits

1991 Roger Goll

1990 Stan Fetter, Nina Spruill

1989  Bobby Mack and Murphy, The Recycling Coalition for spearheading opposition to an incinerator

1988 Major Larry L Shanks

1987  St. Vincent Pallotti H.S. Senior Class for Dump Truck Safety legislation

1986 Fred Frederick

1985  Hon. Vincent J. Femia (Ret) for Juvenile Justice reforms

1984 Hon. David Bird

1983  Roberta Roper and Vic Pietkiewicz for Victim’s Rights legislation

1982 Jack Perry

Some of the Past Federation President’s Awards: 

2011 Aruther Turner for his work to get healthier restaurants in his district (video)

2009 Kelly Canavan for her work with the AMP Creek Communities Council, protecting the environment, & rural tier (photos & videos)

2008 Dr. Charles Arnold for his work with the Brookwood-Hollaway Civic Association and extended community

2007 Randy Pheobus for his work with the South County Alliance for Quality Communities (photos)

2007 Patricia Blankenship and Zelda Bell for their work with Citizens to Conserve and Restore Indian Creek

2006 Janis Hagey and David Cahn of the Citizens for an Elected Board were the major driving forces behind a phenomenal effort to re-establish a fully elected school board in Prince George’s County.

2006 Imani Kazana and Stuart Eisenburg of the Washington Gas Watch Alliance became ‘experts’ in energy conduction in their efforts to prevent the Washington Gas Company from building a liquefied natural gas storage and pumping facility in the heart of Chillum.

2005 The Friends of Croom whose members have worked to maintain the character of Croom and the rural tier.

2004 Darryl Harris for civic activism in Little Washington.